Nov 9, 2018

  • Pre-Order
    180-Gram Yellow
    • Limited to 700.
    • First Pressing.
    • Mailorder Exclusive.
    • Includes FREE 11"x17" poster.
  • Pre-Order
    180-Gram Black
    • Includes FREE 11"x17" poster.
  • Pre-Order
  • Pre-Order

All formats include instant download of "Red Wine," "Violent" & "Trouble."

Full album download (MP3 and WAV) available 11/2/18.

Pre-orders will ship on 10/31/2018

Concocting a freshly strange blend of synth pop and damaged folk music, Grapetooth is a band from Chicago that consists of Chris Bailoni and Clay Frankel.

The two don’t remember clearly how they met, but Frankel, home from tour with garage rock outfit Twin Peaks, began dropping in at Bailoni’s residence in the winter of 2015. The two began writing spontaneous songs in Bailoni's synth-laden bedroom studio, which had long stood as the base of operations for his own wonderfully weird solo and producer work as Home-Sick.

By 2016 the two friends were sharing an apartment, along with a growing fondness for red wine, bad weather, and the music of Yukihiro Takahashi. Though still without a name or any intention to release their music, as roommates the two collaborated more and more often, at all hours of the day and night. Soon they had quite a score, and agreed to play a show opening for their close friend Knox Fortune for his upcoming album release show.

They chose the name Grapetooth, an affectionate slang term for a wino, and decided to make a video in support of the upcoming show for their song “Trouble”, one of the earliest songs the two had written together. Like the song itself, which had been written and recorded in the course of one night inside Bailoni’s bedroom, the video was similarly unplanned and on the cheap, and they posted it online without further ado.

The reception was encouraging, and the pair went back to the bedroom and focused on completing their album.

The album captured a feeling the duo happily felt was somewhere between the doomy disco of 80’s new wave and the woozy laments of artists like Arthur Russell and Jeff Cowell. It contains songs about death and love and the movie Badlands and more than a few songs about wine.


  • 1
    Violent (3:36)
  • 2
    Red Wine (3:59)
  • 3
    Trouble (3:12)
  • 4
    Mile After Mile (3:48)
  • 5
    Death (4:34)
  • 6
    Imagine On (3:53)
  • 7
    Hangover Sq. (3:57)
  • 8
    Hallelujah (4:18)
  • 9
    Blood (4:17)
  • 10
    Together (3:44)


"Some tracks feel like Tears For Fears-indebted rave-ups while others boast slide guitar and country twang. It’s a jarring mesh but the two pull it off."


"Wine is also pretty essential to the feel of their music—their new-wave-ish tendencies are cut with a fuzzy romanticism that says, “I’ve just downed a jug of Sutter Home.” Their first two singles, “Trouble” and “Violent; were flush-faced party tunes that made you want to both dance and break bottles in the streets."


"Their sound is hard to pin down because of it’s eclectic and evolving nature, but think of a happy medium between The Replacements and the War On Drugs. Layers of gorgeous synths married with a sneering, DIY punk rock sensibility and expressive pontifications on death and love."


"“Red Wine,” ironically, is a bit more love-drunk than wine-drunk, a bit more heartsick than homesick. It’s the band’s most wistful tune yet, and a welcome change of pace from the doomed disco of their previous releases.”


"If your music taste never left the ‘70s and ‘80s, or was transported back to those years, the sound Grapetooth have been channeling will be a welcome guiding pull into the present. Somewhere in the realm of The Cure, Psychedelic Furs and The Clash, Grapetooth stomp in."



  • Violent (3:36)
    Jackson James & Chris Bailoni
  • Red Wine (4:05)
    Jackson James, Clay Frankel, and Chris Bailoni
  • Trouble (3:11)

Related Artists

  • Member
    Also in...
  • Clay Frankel
  • Chris Bailoni