Owen/The Rutabega
Owen/ The Rutabega Split
Jun 8, 2004

  • Buy
    180-Gram Black
  • Buy
  • Buy
All formats include instant MP3 download.

Features three songs from South Bend, Indiana's The Rutabega (aka Josh Hensley) and three songs from Owen (aka Mike Kinsella). Includes Mike performing a solo version of "Never Meant" from his American Football days.

Originally released on Backroads Records, the split was repressed by Polyvinyl after it had fallen out of print for almost a year.


  • 1
    Fluorescent Funeral (The Rutabega) (3:07)
  • 2
    Serotonin (The Rutabega) (3:39)
  • 3
    Buckets Full of Beautiful Things (The Rutabega) (3:40)
  • 4
    Never Meant (Owen) (4:16)
  • 5
    Poor Souls (Owen) (5:30)
  • 6
    May First Brings Lots of Laughs (Owen) (2:45)


Refreshing lyrics, digestible intensity, and a personality you can relate with.
In Music We Trust

A sweet indie affair throughout

All Music Guide